Blloc Ratio and Privacy

Hi team

First, kudos to the team for rolling out a wonderful promising product. I was looking forward to trying it out and when I received the invite, I was very excited.

But, my excitement was short-lived when I realized that the app is not available through the usual download method i.e. through the trusted Google Play Store.

I read the posts here to understand that since Blloc Ratio requires special access to the OS, it might not be accepted by Google Play.

That begs the question: What special access or permission does the Blloc Ratio apk wants that Google isn’t ready to provide? I couldn’t find any information on the website or community.

I’m an engineer and Android developer myself, also I deeply care about security and privacy. I don’t install 3rd party APK on my phones that aren’t available on Google Play Store. Why, you may ask? Because I don’t trust them. Period.

But I really really wanted to try Blloc Ratio since it promises a lot. Still I haven’t installed it. What’s stopping me? I can see that it’s being developed by a German Company. That’s a good sign. The data protection and privacy laws are good in Germany. But still one thing is missing: TRANSPARENCY.

I would like to request the team to be open and transparent about the security and privacy issues with Blloc Ratio. Be radically transparent of OS level access that the APK or the Desk Software wants and uses. That will build trust and credibility in the minds of users like me. Because in the longer run, I’m sure people who really want to use the launcher as a daily driver won’t use a PC or Mac software to keep updating their software that’s not available on the Play Store.

People who are early adopters jump from one launcher at breakfast to another by lunch. Most are probably testing it on a secondary device and will soon jump to the ‘next shiny little launcher’ when it comes.